Music and why our brain likes it so much.

http://science.time.com/2013/04/15/music/

Based on fMRI and PET studies, it has been shown that music activates the same dopamine pathways in the brain that some of the most important activities such as eating and sex  do. Coupled with previous theories, researchers believe that it is the pattern recognition and analysis element involved in listening to music that activates these reward pathways in the brain. So the next time you have a song stuck in your head, take satisfaction in the fact that your brain is solving patterns and is proud of it! Brains are Fancy!

5 thoughts on “Music and why our brain likes it so much.

  1. Ok. Now explain to me why some people are so amazing at producing music, and others, like me, have zero ability.

  2. I had heard of this before, and its really neat to think that two activities which are so different such as eating and listening to music can activate the same pathways in our brains.

  3. I had heard of this before, but I still love it. It makes me feel better that I spend hours of time listening to music, because apparently my brain is still working on things and not slacking off like I used to think.

Leave a Reply

